Hallowon’t

I normally love Halloween. The smells, the crunchy leaves, roasting pumpkin seeds, ties to ancient Pagan tradition and harvest-time, the excitement and mystery of the night. It’s the most fun, nostalgic and easy holiday out there (I know, I know, it’s not really a holiday). But count me out this year.

Cute kids and possibly babies in strollers coming in throes to my house, happy families in tow for an annual tradition that brings laughter, sugar rushes (and sugar crashes) and the like? No f*ing way, not this year. For more rationale, please read my post on why I’d like to stay away from your babies for now.

For the first time in my life, my porch lights will be off. The decorations are staying in the closet, and I’m staying away from the door by going out to dinner with a friend.

Leave a comment